VEX : point -> pointwrangle

Hi,

first off, I'm totally new to any kind of programming language.

Yet I'm trying to convert a point SOP expression into VEX in a pointwrangle.

$TX * ($TY / $YMAX)  is the line I'm trying to write in VEX.

My problem is the $YMAX

I reckon $TX becomes @P.x

but I'm not able to find the equivalent for $YMAX

$YMAX is the maximum value of any point in the Y axis, right? (I'm not even sure)

So I searched the help for a max function, but it seems to be only to compare between 2 thing.

Can anyone help and correct me?

thanks.

Edited by 6ril
  • Like 1

try this:

whenever you see "&" sign, sort of means it will modify the data in it.

here is the function from the documentation:

void getbbox(int input, vector min&, vector max&)

-----code----

//empty vectors

vector min; 

vector max;

getbbox(0, min, max); //find bbox

f@ymax = max.y; //export

edit: should be float sorry

Edited by willow wafflebeard
  • Like 1

Another question :

this "expression"

$TX * (($TY / $YMAX)+1)

is from this very nice tutorial of Konstantin Magnus - > https://vimeo.com/112114913

(Procedural Modeling of a Shampoo Tube)

It's actually a very important part of the procedural modeling method. It's reshaping a tube into the body of the shampoo tube. In one point node.

x: $TX * ((($TY / $YMAX)+1)*0.45)      y:  $TY   z: $TZ * (1.02 - ($TY / $YMAX))

but unfortunately, he doesn't develop the though process leading to this expression.

So my question is, how does one come to approach simple pinching on a tube, with such an expression ?

I'm aware this question might sound rather naive, you might tell me "learn your maths!" or something. But I'm just wondering if there's some "references" somewhere, or,

Konstantin, would you mind telling me how you figured this one? Did you create it out of the blue ?