lo poly model

betty

Hi guys

Well here is the head i did a few days ago, finally got it up!! It is my first character in Houdini so it's my path to an introduction to the poly tools for character modeling. I think there are many great tools in there but it still seems to be lacking some basics, but since this is my first attempt at this i suppose many tools i may simply have not seen but are actually there, either well hidden or right under my nose. I am quite an erratic worker so hopefully i just didn't see them.

What i found to be lacking is

*shrink selection ( i know there is grow selection but cannot find "shrink". i have checked the documents and there is no sign of this while i did find documentation on growing selection. also it would be good if you could just change selections based upon shared properties without growing the selections. eg: say i have two points selected which are at opposite ends of an edge. if i now wanted to work on the edge, it would be good if i could simply hit 2 ( or whatever key ) and the selection turns to the edge which is shared by both points.)

*extrude multiple primitives as a merged region. ( i notice all primitives will extrude as individual primitives in the direction of their normal. what i have to do in the meantime is dissolve the edges within the regiion so the selected primitives then become one primitive )

*extruding points

*bevel ( this seems to me to be essential. alternatives mentioned in other posts simply don't cut it)

*the ability to flatten a primitive to an axis of your liking. options should be very open, ie; the normail of a selected point, an average of a selected elements - be they points, edges etc. ( again maybe this is just me, but trying to work with the construction plane was painful - again my first attempt )

This is just an initial observation and i didn't take down notes, i am also writing this a few days after doing the model so i'm sure i have forgotten some things.