VOPS or VFL?

Wolfwood

So which way do you like doing things? With VOP networks? Or with a good old fashion text editor and .vfl files?

I'm interested in everyone's feedback, pro's and con's, apples n oranges.

Personally I think VOPs are very very cool. Its quick, tucked away neatly inside your hip file, and networks can be modified with out recompiling code. However I find it difficult to work with when its a large shader, but then again that is more or less true for any large network inside of Houdini. The inline VOP is a lifesaver because it cuts back on a lot of the other simplier VOPs but using nothing but inline VOPs is cheating right? :P

Actually I like VOPs a lot for proof of concept stuff. Throw a network together as a test, if it works great, if not....poopie.

What's your 2 cents?

jim.

ps. In VOPs did you know you could middle mouse on a VOP icon and it will display compilation errors and warnings? So much for RTFM. :P

Well, I'm a newbie, but I like VOPs a whole heck of a lot. Seriously, I think it's the single best feature of any piece of 3D software. The stuff I'm making isn't real complicated so using VOPs is much easier and quicker than writing VFL. The ease with which you can save and install new optypes on other machines is very cool as well.

I fell in love with this type of workflow before I touched Houdini, though. There's this software, Quest 3D, that allows you to build frameworks for little Direct 3D applications by hooking up tiles into a flowchart very similar to VOPs. It was much easier for me than hacking away at .cpp files for hours and digging through the Direct X SDK. I'm not an exceptional programmer :P The first time I saw Quest, I was like, "Crap! Why the hell doesn't someone do something like this for scripting with a modeling/animation program?" Low and behold, SideFX did.

Now VOPs of course is much deeper and more flexible than Quest 3D, but the concept is very much the same. If you are interested you can look at it here: