Any one know if Aprentice is Multi Threaded?

As far as I know there is no special procedure to make Houdini take advantage of two processors. Houdini does it on it's own.

Still. You will not see any significant prformance when you model, rigging, etc. Most likely only one processor will be utilized at the time.

Rendering! That's when your second processor will come in handy.

I've never done this before(never owned dual proc system) but you'll have to type in somewhere, something like this :)

host1, host2

to make Houdini use two processors.

Perhaps other people here can help you with this one.

yeah Im not so worried about work flow mostly rendering. What I have been doing that makes me ask this. .is volumetic smoke and writing out .i3d files.. and then rending. takes a while and the mantra only uses one proc. Need all the horse power I can get.

Yeah I think I know where it is. you go into you mantra settings to be dual proc rendering and say

Local host, Local host,

The set your bucket size to like 64 or 128,

but every time I do this it crashes... and doesnt recover. may be a bug.

Thanks for the response.. it better than I got at SESI's site. Which was no answer over 3 days.

aurafx

i think you can render using both processor. in the mantra option you should find something that say "off the top off my head" XXX localHost. it's in the settings for network render.

all you have to do is write localHost twice. e.g LocalHost,LocalHost.

this will send the mantra twice to your computer thus forcing it to use both cpu.

i think this should work :huh:

bren

Could you let us know what your render command looks like? It could be something in there thats making it crash.

It should still never crash though, so there's definitely a bug. But perhaps we can get two procs going for you some other way :)

Cheers

Marc

Ok well it might be that Im using aprentice.

My render script is this:

mantra -H localhost,localhost -B 64