Physical Sun System

Hi--

This is my first post on od[force] but I have been lurking around for a while. I have learned a lot from all the forum contributors, so...thank you.

I have the following question:

Does anyone know if a physical sun position calculator exists within or has been created for houdini?

What I would like to do is have a system where I could input a real world latitude, longitude, and time and have the system correctly position a "sun" in the "sky". This is a standard feature in many CAD programs (rhino, for example) but I have not been able to find it in Houdini. Maybe I am not looking in the right place though.

I am an architect and have been exploring uses for Houdini in the context of generative design. The sun system would be used to drive a locator, which would in turn drive behaviour of an adapative facade system

thks!

adam

you should be able to finds the components of this with google...

there isn't any such thing for Houdini as far as I know...

but building it is trivial...

give it a go and let us know how it goes and if you have any questions...

Oddly enough I just started working on this in my spare time.

Sky colors are done (ignoring various division by zero bugs) and now I just need to do the sun (direct illumination).

http://www.shadeops.com/skycolor/

How nice Wolfwood! Thanks! Atmosphere shader should work also with that code right?

Edited by SYmek

How nice Wolfwoold! Thanks! Atmosphere shader should work also with that code right?

I don't see why not. I use that code to generate lat-long environment maps, and then use those environments maps as a hemisphere area light. (Light Dome).

Sky colors are done (ignoring various division by zero bugs) and now I just need to do the sun (direct illumination).

Nice work, Jim:)

PBR needs a good one of these for a daylight illumination model; it really helps you get pretty pictures quite quickly.

Good stuff! Nice tip about using the code to generate environment maps too.