Houdini Operators V/s Maya nodes

Hi, I am new to houdini, and of course interested in learning it and also how to program it. I currently work with the Maya API and read the online docs of Houdini HDK help.

I had a question after giving it a casual read. In maya, i can write a node which can take in, say one parameter, and i can perform calculations on it and output say 5 parameters. This node can then be connected to attributes in a network.

While reading the help, i found the types of network and also the kinds of customizations possible in houdini. Theres, SOP, POP, COP, CHOP etc, but suppose i want to write a simple node (like the one i described above ) then are there any general type of operators to do so?:blink:

Another eg would be a node which takes a value and outputs it's sine(sin()), which can then be networked in any graph in maya.

Thanks...

I had a question after giving it a casual read. In maya, i can write a node which can take in, say one parameter, and i can perform calculations on it and output say 5 parameters. This node can then be connected to attributes in a network.

CHOPS is where you normally do just that only you don't need to write the operations, They're already there, you just network them. For example, use the Fetch chop to bring in a parameter (channel) from anywhere in houdini, append a Math chop or whatever have you to perform your operations and then add any number of export chops to send this data anywhere else in houdini. any pre-existng channels just get overridden.

Another eg would be a node which takes a value and outputs it's sine(sin()), which can then be networked in any graph in maya.

Check out the Wave and/or Expression Chops

I suggest you go through some of the video tutorials at sidefx to understand this better

One of the big attractions to houdini is the fact that you don't need to code as much in houdini as you would probably have to in other packages

cheers

tallkien