traiano

Hi.

I want to know something about Houdini Rop Cache and Computing.

Im simulating 240 Frames of dust with smokesolver emitted from particles.

Pyro Divisions are 0.06 - Volume source scale divisions: 0.1

Im caching and from Frame 0 to Frame 100 it was only 4 hours.. .bgeos weight from 18 Mb at early start to 200 Mb each bgeo file.

So now the caching and is taking ages.. It took 17 hours to cache from Frame 100 to Frame 133.

Bgeos are getting as big as 450mb each.

How long it will take to cache until Frame 240?

Is It normal that a bgeo weight 400mb and take 1.5 hours to compute each frame?

Im using Open CL - Quadro 4000

Edited by traiano

Hi traiano!

Since I am new to houdini I can't answer you if it is usual for a frame to take that long. But first of all I would check if you have scaled everything correctly. Expect a meter to be one unit as a default in houdini. If you know the irl scale of your sim try to match it since I think a scene to large scaled can require a bit of your sistem.

To answer your question I simply used mathematics. Using a quadratic exponential function I approximate your total sim to take 70 hours so you have two or more days to go. Well as I said it is only a mathematic approximation. I hope any houdini masters could help you since their experience is more valuable than maths.

If you want to make an even better approx create a simple graph in Xcel with the different frame values and also the time your sim has been running or even better put that in matlab. A bit overkill I would say. :P

Here is just a simple graph from excel

Hope this gives you a hum of sim time. Would be cool if you could report back ans see how far I actually was from the right answer :)

post-9297-0-21198000-1362693593_thumb.pn