How can I connect this pop network?

halion

hey, halion! it is a bizzare thing, i reconstructed your network and yes, it does turn black if you connect the pop to the merge. However, it renders perfectly fine, but if you want to avoid that altogether, add another merge sop and merge the product of your first merge with the pop. did the trick for me.

good luck!

Hi there,

If you connect geometry with the Normal attribute into a Merge SOP, other connected geometry will turn black. The alternative is to append a facet SOP to compute Normals or delete all Normal attribute from any geometry before merging them.

Cheers!

steven

It'll work with a single merge SOP if you merge the pop in first. Point normals are the problem. The surface normals are fine, which is why it renders properly. Facet doesn't seem to help after the merge either.

As near as I can recon, and I'm by no means an expert....

The merge SOP basicly merges all this stuff into one object, right? When doing so it reorders all the points. It works fine when you give it the objects, but if you follow the objects with a mess of loose points, it's like the merge SOP doesn't understand where one surface ends and the next starts and doesn't know how to set up the normals properly, so all your objects are shaded black in the viewport. If you give it the popnet first, the merge SOP seems to have no problem working out the proper point order and everything works fine.

As for deleting normals... I wasn't aware that was even possible. I always though a normal was one of those fundamental things that every point and primitive *must* have in order to be drawn. Is it really possible to delete them?

Crap I should've tried putting the popnet in first then the objects into the first mode after I found out thats how it worked in the second merge. :blink: Thanks for clearing me up with the merge sops it makes sense about how it works.