Wondering about how maya and houidini work in

cylibral

Hey Guys sorry if this has been answered before, I'm doing a thesis project that i will be using MAYA and Houdini side by side in production of my VFX short.

It;s about 1:30 to 2 mins worth of animation. So my question is how seamless is working between the two in production . Has anyone did projects requiring to use them both interchangably? And if they can breath some light to this... I want to use Houdini for all the fx and maya for the character animation.. thank you very much in advance ...

George

WEll most of what i wa thinking of was to do all the particle fx and destruction scenes that i have in Houdini as well as flock of birds that fly around. ANd the rest of it being done in maya for the characater aniamtion and modeling. Shake to composite. So my thing was if it is recomended to do this.. As the i feel particles and fx are better in Houdin then they are in MAYA. Since this is a school thesis project i didn;t know if it;s recommended to do something like this... i just wosh the Rigid body dynamics were abit stronger. sorry this is just me talking out of my #** ... Either way Houdini is awesome......

George

3d mind body and soul

Hey George

Well if all you're doing is compositing the end result together, then it makes no difference what software you use to achieve the elements. Most big companies use a mix of Maya/Houdini/XSI/Lightwave basically anything including in house software to do work and then comp it all together at the end.

If you want to transfer scenes across, then its a little trickier but it can be done.

Ciao

Marc

Thanks Marc,