Help understanding Ben Watts growth prop. tutorial

Hello,

I'm trying to understand the process in Ben Watts tutorial  

So initially he made 2 scatters, one will be the points on the surface and the other points will be the start propagation ones.

Then he does 2 attribute wrangle with this:

f@accum =0; and in the other f@init = 1; 

I'm new to houdini and trying to get the basics in vex, already toke hellolux intro to vops and I was thinking on Vex in Houdini by Shawn Liposwki but that one seems for advanced users, so if anybody got a nice VEX for ultra noobs web or tut will be great!

So, f@ means frame at? and accum / init are attributes he made?, 0 means no and 1 means yes?

What I understand from solvers is they repeat actions right? he made an Attribute vop there and plug the first node in prev_frame and second node into input 2 (one for each scatter)

In the att. vop he made a point open (saw this in a lot of tutorials but can't figure out yet the function), same for the pc filter, where he put the attributes he created earlier.

Finally he does @Cd = set (1.0.0) where I understand he takes the color and set to red (1 for R)

then @Cd.x = @accum; (why the .x?) 

I really enjoy houdini propagation effects and want to dig more into this, I also saw the thread of reaction diffuse and analized the files, its kinda advanced for me but everyday I learn new stuff and then when I go back I have a better overall idea

Thanks

Haven't watched the video but I can explain a few things. That f@ means he is stating that variable is a float. i@ would be an integer, v@ would be a vector etc. Writing it this way with the @ syntax also exposes it as an attribute that can be used/modified/manipulated in another part of the node graph.

@Cd.x means he is just setting the x component of Cd. You can see it has 3 values and they can be accessed by the dot notation so .x is the first number, .y second and .z the third.