Pythontohoudini

doc

Golly, thanks...:P

Dive into Python is a great starting point, but if you're new to coding, there's also:

http://aspn.activestate.com/ASPN/docs/Acti...ytut/index.html

which is a little less assuming. When you get more into it, any O'Reilly books are, of course, great.

Shameless plug: ActiveState is a great site - tons of very useful snippets, they distribute a great Python for free if you have the misfortune of being stuck on windows, and they also sell a great IDE called Komodo which I use on Linux(also available on Windows).

Have fun!

Cheers,

J.C.

funny...

a week a go, I was wondering why docs about binding Python in Houdini have disapeared from H. help... (there was a chapter about python in H5.5 pdf). I thought that H. doesn't support Python in some strict way anymore... It would be shame! I know there are lots of script languages out there (and few on them right in Houdini), but Python is a really amazing stuff! It is so easy (yes, yes, I'm not a programmer :)) and so powerful... There should be some deeper integration here, since Python is the easiest way to use scripts (or even programming) for someone like me - without computer science background. And there are most of us...

For many years I've tried to learn coding basics - just for simply tasks. It was quite easy untill I had to write something :). After few days diving in Python I could write anything I wanted before. Just like that...

alright, so i've been getting in to scripting lately so i can see what it has to offer me in terms of pushing my own work and knowledge further. i also know it's a good asset to have in the industry, so it will be good to have on a resume while i'm looking for work at the turn of the new year as well.