Starting out Modelling in Houdini - Experiencing basic issues

Snappy_Darko

Hello,

I've started to experiment with modelling in Houdini and have encountered some roadblocks almost immediately. That may have to do with my settings, but i'm not certain. I'd appreciate any tips if you have a moment

1) When I  Ctrl + Create object (Sphere, Box, Tube etc) it creates the geometry at object level, rather than at SOP level.  Thus i'm forced to create each new piece of geometry  by manually putting down a node, which renders pointless the shortcuts from the pop up radial menu and the Create menu tab.

2) When I'm trying to do a Boolean operation I cannot select the second object (using the select arrow).  Again, I have to create a node.

3) Boolean just won't work on my model, whcih is just a very simple bit of box modelling, here's the file https://drive.google.com/open?id=1pau6l2cnVcn3NstddBiKEbLasKjdQPjb 

These very simple things are very frustrating, but i am very new to Houdini so they could be straightforward oversights.

Help would be hugely appreciated.

Edited by Snappy_Darko

hi,

1) this is what Create in object level / Create in context is doing (dropdown menu in the top right corner of your viewport window, right next to the question mark icon)

2) bummer. don't know, I rarely use shelf tools or viewport selecting. it's odd.

3) not sure what the end result should be but this is principally not working. first of all, your groups selection are not intersecting so it is doing nothing, as expected. also, your meshes are quite messy with some bad topology issues. not good for booleans. if I converted to vdb meshes then it works. check the attachment.

PC_response.hip

Thank you, the create in Context was very useful andyou're right the topology wasn't good, that's definitely the reason. I'm coming from Zbrush and some things I took for granted (like the subdivisions) I'm now remembering that I have to strengthen the mesh.   Really appreciate your help here.