Using python for convert file sequence path

Andrea

Hello! I am creating a python script that search for all the textures used in the project and copies them in a folder $HIP/textures. After that, it converts the path to $HIP/textures/[texture_name]. It works fine until there isn't a variable like $F in the string. If this is the case, it copies just the first frame and not the full sequence. 

What I am using to collect all the textures path is a line from a code I've found: 

files = glob.glob(hou.expandString(re.sub(r'\$F\d', "*", parm.unexpandedString())))

Being a python newbie, I am not really sure to correctly understand what it does in order to fix this issue. 

I got more or less that re.sub replace the first argument (\$F\d) with the second argument ("*") inside the text of the third argument. Is all the expandString and unexpandedString that confuses me. Seems like that this function just returns the string value at the current frame? What if I want to get all the textures/files? 

Thanks in advance for any help/suggestions

Do you have examples where this does not work?

The regular expression replaces occurrences of $F4, etc with *. The * is a wildcard for globbing for matching files in the filesystem. expandString does all the Houdini magic to turn the expression into a complete path. 

If your path just contains file.$F.png, the regular expression above will not match and then expandString will substitute the frame number, i.e. you only get the first frame. Try to use r'\$F\d?' instead. 

Edited by Activate

Hello! Thank you guys. 

So using the question mark  r'\$F\d?' as @Activate suggested, did the trick to collect the sequence of textures and copy them to the destination folder.