Polybevel on two merged objects . Topology Help

lajosch

Hi,

I am new to Houdini and cannot solve this problem:

I created two open circle objects (circle > sweep > merge). The dimensions are identical.

I want to combine them and then bevel the edges. It looks fine before I apply the polybevel (Image: Polybevel_01.1 and 01.2), but with the polybevel applied, the result looks broken (Polybevel_2.1 and 02.2).

It makes no difference if I merge the objects, or if I use a boolean node.

Can anyone help me with this?

Thanks

Polybevel_01.1.PNG

Polybevel_01.2.PNG

Polybevel_02.1.PNG

Polybevel_02.2.PNG

Merge only combines two (or more) objects. It isn't doing any welding of points or boolean functions. Not knowing exactly what you're trying to do makes it tough to answer, but if VDB's work for what you're trying to achieve, you might get more success increasing the voxel size before converting back to polys. The larger the voxels, the less detailed the volume, and the less heavy it'll be as a mesh after converting back. 

• Thanks 1

Hi Peter,

thanks. I am just wondering, why there is no difference between a merge and a boolean, when the boolean is supposed to "create" a new object.

So attached is the hip file.

Later on I want to make a lot of copies of both circles in the x and y axis (like 200) so that they create a pattern. And they have to keep their form. That is why I think VDB's would be overkill, because the voxel size would have to be pretty small.

Thanks again for your help.

Polybevel.hip

17 hours ago, lajosch said:

Hi,

I am new to Houdini and cannot solve this problem:

I created two open circle objects (circle > sweep > merge). The dimensions are identical.

I want to combine them and then bevel the edges. It looks fine before I apply the polybevel (Image: Polybevel_01.1 and 01.2), but with the polybevel applied, the result looks broken (Polybevel_2.1 and 02.2).

It makes no difference if I merge the objects, or if I use a boolean node.