l-system question

michael

has anyone had any trouble with the 'pruned growth' tutorial in the docs?

it's one I've never tried before...can't think of why I never did...but now that I have done it...it doesn't work LOL

it's VERY simple - 3 metaballs > merge1 : l-system + merge1 > merge2

the rules for the l-system 'look' OK - and they are straight from the docs, and it is within the bounds of merge1...

hit play and the l-system is supposed to grow within the bounds of the metaballs...but in my case nothing happens...?

houdini 5.5.208 + Win2000

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

bah....I fixed it :|

have to pay more attention to what I'm doing....

but now that it is working, I have another question about the conditional statement : in(x,y,z) ...is there a way to grow an l-system only where there is geometry - I dont mean within, but at...like if you wanted a vine to grow up the side of a wall...I guess what if looking for is some kind of zone....

hmmmm....more brain activity needed :)

ah...I think what I'm trying to ask (funny how hard it is to ask a question when you don't know what the hell you're talking about :) )

is how to use 2 objects as a meta-test object?...

eg: one metaball inside the other and scaled down a bit....picture

hmmm...well I found in the docs that you can't do exactly what I wanted... :(

oh well...

lets try another question...

is there a way to use variables in a rule eg: A=F//+$MYVAR

or to use and expression eg: A=F//+`eval(me)`

?

does anyone use l-systems? :unsure:

i've tryed using l-system for my trees and they can out quit well. the only thing is it's the hardest thing in the world to fined out anything about how you creat things. you can find thousands of information about the rules but no examples of rules or examples with the rules.

good luck bren

does anyone use l-systems?  

asked myself this one a million times!!!