Is This Suicide?

Kokosing

I've been using Cinema 4D for about 5 years now. I've often looked wistfully at Houdini and wondered if I should ever dive in.

Well now I'm starting a long project and I'm not sure Cinema 4D can do what I want so I'm considering whether to invest a few days trying it out in Houdini.

Here's what I'm trying to do:

I've got a table full of papers (polygonal planes - could be proceedural, doesn't matter.) I want them to fly up off the table and group together to form different target shapes. This is no problem in Cinema 4D's proceedural Mograph module, but I want to take this a few steps further. I'd like the papes to bend with the target shapes. So for instance if the target shape was a cylinder, the papers forming the outside ring would curve to match it, but not stretch. I'd also like to prevent the papers from colliding, but this may be alot to ask (and definitely requires particles, yes?)

Could anyone give me their honest opinion of whether this is the sort of thing a new user could take on? Can this indeed be done in Houdini? I'd probably build all my geometry and do all my rendering and comping in apps I know well so it's really just the animation I'm trying to create.

Thanks in advance for any advice, and if I don't join you all on this one, hopefully I will on the next.

Will

mmmm if you dont know how to use houdini, let your fingers away from houdini, at your project. learn it when you got time. i love houdini, i was a cinema user for years, switcht to maya, and now i work with houdini. Houdini is the top of VFX effects. But dont switch to it, when you got no knowledge. Because houdini is not equal to cinema or maya. Houdini is better, but you have to know a lot, i needed one year to understand the main things.

bye