a question about point clouds

hi everyone,

I was wondering if anyone could explain why Houdini uses point clouds to calculate effects such as SSS and translucency and also what are the benefits of this method over the normal way in which it is done in say mental ray or vray or any other renderer.

Also could some one give a step by step procedure as to how to create and use Point clouds for SSS.

I have seen a lot of topics on odforce talking about point clouds, but I couldnt find anything about creating one.

Any help and explanation would be most appreciated

with regards

Rohan Dalvi

Hi marc,

I have gone through the thread, but I must say a lot of it went way over my head. There is a lot of hardcore math and shader programming that they talk about and I am not really a programmer. I can do some basic math required for animation and expressions but nowhere near to the stuff they talk about.

My problem/request essentially is that if someone could just give a step by step procedure on how to create a pointcloud in houdini.

I even went through the help, but they talk about pcwrite and pcexport and other stuff, but they havent mentioned a procedure on how to use it except for a code, now the question arises where do I put that code.

I had tried once to just scatter some points over a sphere and do a ROP geometry export and save it with an extention of .pc It worked but when I put it into the SSS material nothing happened :) I was just taking a wild guess and hoping it would work, well it didnt.

What I need to know are what attributes need to be added to the points. If they need normal, colors etc. All they ever mention is that you use the scatter SOP, but then what next??

What i am asking for is basically a tut for creating a point cloud for SSS.

with regards

Rohan Dalvi

Edited by rohandalvi