Hi I'm new to this wrangle node programming, I've been busting my head over why this doesn't work for three days, it's so simple therefor i must be missing out on some general vex concepts.
If anyone can please point me in the right direction that would be greatly appritiated.

I have a bunch of points on a grid and their moving up and down via noise.

I am trying to set up a point attribute that has a value of 1 when a point if moving up (positivly in the Y axis) and a value of 0 when a point is moving down (negativly in the Y axis).

This attribute is called Direction, I'm computing the logic on temporary VEX variables and then writing them out to the attributes. Here's how it looks like :

// 0 is going down, 1 is going up, -1 means the point has no direction

// on the first frame they have no direction so the points just take their current heights so they can use them for comparison on the second and every other frame

int temporary_Direction;
float temporary_Previous_Frame_Height;

if(@Frame == 1)
{
    temporary_Direction = -1;
    temporary_Previous_Frame_Height = @P.y;
}
else
{

temporary_Direction = @Direction;  // ------------> this is where the problem is  (this is here so that the temporary variable get's the value of the currently proccesing point every frame)
    temporary_Previous_Frame_Height = @P.y;

if(temporary_Direction == -1)       // If the point has no direction 
    {
         if(temporary_Previous_Frame_Height < v@P.y)     // If it's going up
        {
            temporary_Direction = 1;
            temporary_Previous_Frame_Height = v@P.y;
        }

if(temporary_Previous_Frame_Height > v@P.y)      // If it's going down
        {
            temporary_Direction = 0;
            temporary_Previous_Frame_Height = v@P.y;
        } 
    }
}

// Out_Values
i@Direction = temporary_Direction;
f@Previous_Frame_Height = temporary_Previous_Frame_Height;
// Out_Values