Neglect

bobster

I'm new to Houdini, and very excited about its effects capabilities. When I found out about odforce I was extremely happy to find others who used this severely under-documented piece of software, thinking great!...I'll be able to get some answers along the way. Unfortunately, I've noticed a lot of unanswered questions dating back 2 or 3 years. I've submitted a couple posts with no response, fortunately I found the answer to one of them elsewhere.

Just a grip I guess.

Why the hell aren't there tones of third party books out there like Maya has. Maya is wonderfully documented. I know it's reached a huge market, but come on, Houdini has some very unique features tailored for us effects guys, and it's been around for several years. I'm hungry to learn but I don't want to feel like I'm taking an I.Q. test everytime I try to do something in Houdini.

Because hardly anyone uses Houdini except places doing heavy effects work. If it was more heavily cemented into the mainstream market, it would have more documentation and books.

I am with you on this one brother. I am new to Houdini as well and wish it was easier to learn and find resources for learning but it's a trial by fire... and one reason talented Houdini artists are sought after. 3DBuzz.com has good beginner tutorials for Houdini, if you're looking for someplace to start.

Hey Bobster

Sorry you feel neglected.

I can't speak for eveyone else, but I know I try to get to as many questions as possible. And as for the ones I don't know the answers to, well I do what every other person does... and hope that someone else will get to it :P .

If you have any burning unanswered questions then please feel free to pm me and I'll see what I can do...

Ciao

Marc

some good questions go unanswered.. on any forum, and in life ;)