Is houdini based on Linux?

SteveNi

Hi

A few months ago I started learning Linux at school (CLI commands and some networking stuff) and I just realized that a lot of things in Houdini seems to be "Linux-based".

Like the textport (wich I haven't found any usage yet): its exactly like linux command line interface, and you can type commands like cd, ls, pwd, etc...wich are actually linux commands...

Also in houdini we have the concept of starting from root and going througt the various context...

Whats going on? Is houdini really based on Linux?

If you could explain this fact I would really appreciate it.

Hi,

It could be that some concepts/commands are influenced by Linux, but Houdini is definitely OS independent because you can run Houdini on Windows/Linux/Mac. In general, all applications are made of many layers, the core of the application would usually be pure C/C++ that is OS independent, then would you add more layers to make the application work on different platform, OR you can use a library that can deal with different platforms/OS. For example, you could use Qt library which handles GUI interactivity on many platforms, OR you could write your own GUI code for Windows, Mac, and Linux. 

Edited by catchyid

I have NO IDEA how accurate this is, but I have heard that SideFX develops software with large studios that typically use Linux in mind, as their needs exceed those of other users with fewer technical demands. So if their needs are met, we all benefit. If any of this is true, it would make sense for them to develop tools familiar to Linux users.

In reality, it may just be that Linux provides a wheel not needing reinventing.

Edited by shawn_kearney