Carve Contour Lines In Car Body

derp_bot

Hi all,

First off, I should say that I am new to Houdini, coming from a Blender background, so if I ask silly questions, I apologise in advance.

My ultimate goal if to create sci-fi style car bodies using Houdini, akin to what Akira Saito over at Polyphony has managed to achieve, outlined in the talk:

http://cdn2.gran-turismo.com/data/www/pdi_publications/cedec2018_proceduralHardSurfaceDesignWithHoudiniLight.pdf

Its in Japanese, but the images tell a fairly solid story.

Basically, I am looking for a way to sculpt contour lines into a car body.

So to go from a smooth body like this (ignoring the arrows, they are the authors):

body.PNG.7c55603a6fb86df52cb6389b5bcb1d09.PNG

To a contoured body like these:

contours.thumb.PNG.b16cd6d0c76204c614b32232a89d8049.PNG

As I mentioned, I am pretty new to Houdini, so any pointers on where to get started would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers

Hi Adam,

Akira Saito has probably voronoi-fractured the shell and minimized each surface.

fracture_smooth.jpg.393d810869fb35810a56aaa437984e1e.jpg

Reminds me of what BMW has concepted with 'GINA' or of a Zeppelin for that matter.

bmw_gina.jpg.b436406a6a31e2eaf90ca2015ec9d125.jpg

Here is an exemplary workflow:

fracture_smooth.hiplc

Edited by konstantin magnus
  • Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Nice setup Konstatin, I have taken the result from your file and symmetrically re-fractured it, adding displacement to the newly fractured pieces.

symectric_fracture_displace-3.jpg

Here is it with another scatter seed and a different UV projection type.

symectric_fracture_displace-4.thumb.jpg.d8eabd2c30b9e152dbe2922678115e7d.jpg

Edited by Atom
  • Like 2

There's a SideFX video on vimeo for this project that Akira Saito made. A couple of weeks ago they added English subtitles to it so you should be able to learn a lot about his process from watching this. On the video play bar click on CC to call up the English subtitles.

• Like 2

• 3 weeks later...