While loop won't stop?

lulu01

Hey,

I'm trying to understand the while loop in Houdini VEX using a solver, but having  trouble understanding it.

I've got 1 point connected to a solver, with a point wrangle inside using this code:

while(@P.x <= 10)
    {
        @P.x += .1;

if(@P.x >= 10) {
        break;
        }
    }

its nothing fancy just trying out the basics, but for some reason the loop won't stop after the condition is met.
Neither the breaks help, what I'm doing wrong?

I also got this one below, but in this one the code makes the point slow down after the condition is met?

int i = 0;

while(i <= 10)
    {
        @P.x += .1;
        i++;

if(@P.x >= 10.0) {
        break;
        }
    }

I'm not a coding expert or even Houdini expert but I think the solver works on per frame basis. The While is more appropriate to repeating your action in coding POV.

so my simple example works because it evals each frame then do something....while if you use a While who knows what it's trying to do per frame with a While ? I can't explain it....let some other guru better explain it.

vu_simplesolver.hiplc

• Like 1
  • Downvote 1

4 hours ago, anim said:

you'll need to provide some more info or file as 

while(@P.x <= 10)    {
        @P.x += .1;
}

seems to work perfectly fine when executed on a single point in SOPs, what's your solver setup?

while_loop.hip

ah I see where I gone wrong now...I did set up my basic test like yours, with a solver tho...and thought it didn't work....but it DID, it just didn't show the steps in between like my setup using the IF.

Anyway, it could be completely different the the OP's setup tho.

Edited by Noobini

12 hours ago, Noobini said:

I'm not a coding expert or even Houdini expert but I think the solver works on per frame basis. The While is more appropriate to repeating your action in coding POV.