Questions about a 10k Random Characters output setup

caskal

Hi magicians,

I'm developing a system that needs to output 10.000 different characters.

I will have some different character poses as imputs, as well as some assets (hats, glasses, etc).

I made a quick setup to test it, where I mainly use switchs and expressions:

bunnies.thumb.jpg.91c53057966db5182350ec8fa72f80c6.jpg

This kinda works for small amounts, but I need to figure certain things that would love to hear any thoughts on how to achieve them:

1) With my switch/expression setup, I have random outputs, but how can I define that none of them will be equal?

2) How can I set the setup, to be able to export "only 100 over 10.000 of them with hats"

3) How can I avoid (I guess if/else but im not good at vex) for example: If we have a brown hat, don't output a brown background.

Thank you!

Cheers

1. If you think about this carefully, random may not be the way to go here. You can use the modulo operator "%" to step increments - such that the last switch in the chain cycles between say, 10 inputs, 1 per frame. The switch before that uses floor() function, cycles only every 10 frames, so that every combination of the last 2 switches is produced uniquely.

switch_input1: $F%10 -> goes 0, 1, 2, ..., 8, 9, 0, ...
switch_input2: floor($F/10) - > goes 0, 0, 0, ..., 0, 0, 1, ...

One way to simplify this idea - if I have 4 switches 0000, each with <=10 inputs, then I can get every unique output by cycling the digits like counting upwards - 0001, 0002, ... 9999.

2. To control this kind of statistical weighting, you will likely already have a "Has hat" toggle parameter. You can use Wedge TOP to batch out the 100 with hats, and the other 9900 without.

3. I'm not sure how to help with this.

Edited by Fenolis
  • Thanks 1

Hey @Fenolis thanks for the tips!

1. I was doing something similar with the modulo, but started to learn PDG/TOPS and I think it will be much easier!