Creating Jellyfish Arms

Joon Ref

Hi guys,

I was wondering if someone here knows how to model these jellyfish arms for a project I am currently working on. 

2094.jpg

Looking for help on just the big main arms in the middle, keeping in mind that the scale of the arms need to decrease as it gets closer to the bottom. I was using a differential growth solver on a plane, but it just wasn't cutting it in terms of realism. I was also thinking about driving these simulated arms with a Vellum solver, using the central stem of the arm as a pin constraint, but not sure if thats the best way to go about it.

Any advice/help would be appreciated, I am still pretty new to Houdini, but I understand the basic concepts. Thank you!

Not perfect, but might give you ideas. I remember seeing a ted talk about riemann surfaces, someone worked out if you knitted a scarf and kept adding an extra stitch in each row, it naturally forms those sort of kale leaf/sea cucumber/jellyfish tendrils.

Here I setup a remesh node to do small triangles on one side of a grid, bigger on the other, then when converting to vellum I tell it to try and make all the edges have the same rest length. It naturally gets those kale style shapes.

Had a bit of a play with using a vellum drape to quickly get the base shape, then a second set of constraints and stuff so its ready for a animated sim.

tendrils.gif.0d87fb0abfadf71388cede084a9e8d7e.gif

jellyfish_tendril.hip

• Like 2

Sweet way Matt! Differential mesh grow with relax and pscale attribute could also give you something in this idea. Value are quite sensitive.

Vincent

--------------------------------------

Senior Creative Houdini Artist / Senior Env artist & Lighting (VFX since 1998)

http://fr.linkedin.com/in/vincentthomas

Wip_Lucida_Rnd.PNG.6a2bd16ed0dbc86e0bb4f6726daf52fe.PNG

plant_5_reference.png

Edited by vinyvince

Hello, 

i just did start the sape topic today, and didn't see this one, i will merge my post:-)