Effects In Houdini

daisuke

Well, nice to meet you all. I'm very new to Houdini.

I have been learning effects in Maya for about a year now, and starting to have a grasp of it. Well my mission for now is to understand dynamics / effects in Maya, in other words I would like to master how to deal with effects in Maya. However I keep hearing about the capability of effects in Houdini. Is it really more powerful?? (I think I already know it is..) In what ways is it more powerful and cooler?

:)

Daisuke

Well, nice to meet you all. I'm very new to Houdini.

I have been learning effects in Maya for about a year now, and starting to have a grasp of it. Well my mission for now is to understand dynamics / effects in Maya, in other words I would like to master how to deal with effects in Maya. However I keep hearing about the capability of effects in Houdini. Is it really more powerful?? (I think I already know it is..) In what ways is it more powerful and cooler?

:)

Daisuke

i create effects in maya, too, for years. first i have to say, learn all the basics in maya. when you finish go to houdini and start the learn process. alot of companys worldwide uses the spectrum of maya and houdini and combine them to one big effect. Houdini is a very good solution to create stunning effects, but its hard to learn. I know alot of things in houdini, sometimes you think, you will never back to maya. But sometimes you dont got the time, because maya is sometimes faster, maybe in commercials.

By the way i have to say, im on the houdini learning path since two years. i know alot, but not much:)

the difference between maya and houdini is the approach of procedural workflow. The workflow in Houdini is amazing, i like it, but sometimes hard to understand..........

good luck, and see yeah next time......

bye