Houdini Learning

marquee

Hello everyone!

As you can make out I'm very new to the forums here. I've been trying out houdini for sometime now and have most of the course dvds with me but I find it hard trying to be at it every evening. So I thought if I plunge into learning it at some university. Would be faster but expensive as well.

I've tried all options in australia.

None of them have anything to do with houdini here.

So I was thinging vancouver or bournemouth.

What do you guys think, anyone been on that route at all or am I looking at people who are self taught.

What do you guys think about the course at vancouver?

its 4months and weighs more than a year at Bournemouth in pounds.

Any info would be appreciated.

cheers

I was taught the first 5% of Houdini I know from the Savannah College of Art and Design - and the remaining 95% is mixed from self-taught, old video tutorials, and tips-and-tricks from friends. And I kind of get that feeling that only '5%' is all anyone can really 'teach' of Houdini. It's really a question of wrapping your mind around a procedural workflow.

So depending on how much Houdini you know already depends on whether or not I'd recommend taking a formal class in Houdini.

I don't know how the courses for Houdini in Vancouver or Bournemouth are. But if you're fairly new to Houdini - and you you have a decent level of experience with other 3d apps - I might recommend checking out Side Effects Software's Bootcamp.

http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com...&Itemid=215

From their page:

The Houdini Boot Camp is a comprehensive introduction to Houdini software. This intensive hands-on course provides a working knowledge of Houdini for production with 24 hours of instruction over 4 days. Learn the Houdini workflow and see how your skill-set and demand in the CG marketplace continue to grow!