Silly Challenge

David Gary

So... You asked for challenges... :lol:

For procedural minds ,

If and only if you have time!

1)Break a piece of geometry in shards ( each shard is not a single primitive but a group of primitives , which is much mooore difficult to achieve)

2)Animate the shards with a particle network ( so it's not just instancing...).

sorry i didn't post a more complex animation, but ut's just to show the concept

3)Plus ( that's what i did) : the division of the piece must be procedural ( to have control over crack patterns, that is you must define procedurally the groups of primitives).

EVERYTHING MUST BE PROCEDURAL :)

fracture.gif

sorry for the adGif logo. I do not create animated GIFs very often!

Okay Mr FrenchOP, Please disclose brain power. The ice breaking tutorial is easy enough but for the life of me I can't figure out how to group the primitives, but then I'm fairly new to Houdini. I'm sure I'll kick myself when I find out.

Thanks

• 1 month later...

I'd appreciate a hint concerning the following: can a single group SOP output multiple groups or a fuse SOP do multiple seperate fusions ?!

Defining the pattern for the actual groups seems easy enough for me, and I think I know how I could create a script that simply creates a seperate fuse or group SOP for each fragment, but having all these seperate fuse / group OP's doesn't sound like an elegant solution to me / has little procedural beauty ;).

• 2 weeks later...

Yo guys! Did any of you crack this challenge? I am working on my master's project at the moment - basing much of my particle stuff on the ice breaker (with basher object) - and I would really like to be able to group the primitives into different sized chunks.

Question: wouldn't it be possible to create a lumamap in COPs (some kind of shattermap) and using the pic()-function, grouping and fusing primitives based on this information?

ANY input on this is extremely welcome!

:D

Cheers, jostein.