Houdini 15 Rain Effect

charliejh

Hello,

First post and relatively new to Houdini. 

Im looking to produce a rain effect. I figure the best way is to use a particle emitter from a grid. Basically for the shot I am doing, there is a car driving straight on a road and I need some rain to hit the front of the car and the windscreen. The rain needs to collide with the car and I am also looking to produce the streaking effect as the rain slides along the car.

My main question is how to emit less particles, randomly across the object its emitting from. Also, how do you make the particles tiny (raindrop size) rather than coming down in one giant blob. 

I've been looking for some tutorials for a few days now and I have found nothing.

Any help appreciated, thankyou

Charlie

Edited by charliejh

hey Charlie,

I'm a beginner too, so I won't provide all the help, but,

for the giant blob default look of your particle, it is controllable with the pscale attribute. So if you add a "point wrangle" node after the node that display your particles (dop I/O node called import source if you used the shelf tool) and enter this : @pscale = 0.01;

you will control the particle scale. 0.01 is a 1cm particle.

The amount of particles is controlled in the "birth" tab of the POPsource in you DOP context.

For the rest, you'll probably need to break it down into falling rain -> spawn into little pop splash on car + spawn into constrained pop to car geo...

I can do that very well in 3dsMAX, but I', not there with houdini yet. Tho it should be an easy task for Houdini.

Hey you could emit particles randomly across the grid by adding noise to the Cd attribute of the grid and emitting based on the color attribute and you can animate the noise if you want to for a more randomized look

5 hours ago, 6ril said:

I can do that very well in 3dsMAX, but I', not there with houdini yet. Tho it should be an easy task for Houdini.