Workflow Help Needed

HI guys,

I need your help. I'm trying to investigate and then make my tests about this topic. the reason for my tests is that I'm trying to add Houdini (and then a Houdini little department) in the company I'm working for.

I know this is an high risk I'm taking care of, I'm not an Houdini Expert, but as I told many times lately I definetly want to work with Houdini sooner or later and trying to create the needed interest directly in my company would really be a great success for me.

We almost work with XSI for Animated Feature films and Maya for Motion Pictures Films. At first I need to find how to integrate Houdini into the XSI pipeline. Effects that I need to investigate first of all are all sort of Particle style effects, such as air dust, volumetric lights, and others like grass, plants, smokes, and so on .. I'll go in details maybe later on if this thread will bring the needed interested from you.

First question anyway is, how to properly export data from XSI (geometry with their animations, like characters) and import 'em into Houdini.

we use MentalRay (XSI and Maya) and I'd like to know how hard is to create shaders (or uses our owns) into Houdini to be able to render with MentalRay, or if the best is to create a .mi file to spit into a MR-ready renderfarm.

I have few effects which I need to show "how easier" can be done within Houdini, if you guys would like to help me on this we'll talk about that in details.

thanks in advance for your time.. I seriously hope I'll can archieve such result, including Houdini here, which would means using houdini again in Italy.

looking forward for your feedbacks

cheers.

the only places i see xsi being used at is motion graphic/commercial houses.. but i doubt those places have any houdini knowledge so i don't think that will help you out much :blink:

i know nate (matrixnan) is pretty big on xsi.. don't see him much around here anymore though.. maybe he'll pick this up and be able to help out..