Why Houdini Is Not The King(or Knight @least) Yet?

veeraa

EDIT:

Hi guys,

This is my second post to the group. I'm very new to Houdini and infact animation domain itself. I'm just learning the ropes. I downloaded the eitire vislab(houdini video tutorials) site and am trying to learn it. i'm using 3dbuzz and the Houdini book by will as well.

Animation is only my hobby. I mostly use lightwave and love/hate(sometimes) it. I've used Maya and XSI a bit but not much(Could'nt help hating max workflow for some reason). Coming to Houdini, its touted one impressive peice of softwares. Firstly its completely non-destructive(or procedural) and the second is that its node based and mainly reusable.

Things I gathered from other forums are such,

1. The trouble with houdini,esp for bouquets(small studios) is that although it provides all the tools, there is almost nil off the shelf components like shaders, OTL's, etc. let alone examples, books, tutorials, videos.

2. Most of the guys who applaud houdini abt the easy learning and amazing work flow were guided if not hand-held by experts in their respective studios or pointed them in the right direction.

3. In the past learning material on houdini was almost NIL or very limited like the vislab videos. Even that came about post version 5. Now its not the same with digital tutors, 3dbuzz, gnomon, etc although its not in the same league as Maya or 3dsmax or for that matter not even upto XSI's level.

4. Yeah houdini can just do anything and everything and that too within the cost/budget and timeline without too much of coding or plugins/addons. But the catch is that you've to be an master if not an expert at houdini.