Building a Pc for VFX and Houdini/Redshift

DonRomano

Hey everyone, I need a new pc for my studies (and maybe work with it as a freelancer) and as I am a 3D student who wants to specialize in VFX and Houdini, and as I use Redshift, I wanted to know if there was "better" components to work with Houdini and RedShift.

The configuration I made is : i7 9700K 3.6 Ghz, 8 cores (4.9 Ghz Turbo), 32 Go of ram (3000 Mhz), MSI Z370 SLI Plus, Gtx 1070, 250 Go SSD for softs, and 2 To SATA. When I'll have more money I think about add a SSD for caching and another 1070 for rendering faster.

What do you think about it ? 

The 9700K is not hyper-threaded so you'll only have 8 core, not enough @ 3.6ghz. You may quickly regret that and want more cores. If you do go with that motherboard make sure you purchase your ram in 16Gb sticks so you have the option to add more later. Don't go for 4x8Gb sticks.

I would say that is a mediocre machine. You could probably build something better for the same price.

On 12/10/2018 at 3:51 PM, Atom said:

The 9700K is not hyper-threaded so you'll only have 8 core, not enough @ 3.6ghz. You may quickly regret that and want more cores. If you do go with that motherboard make sure you purchase your ram in 16Gb sticks so you have the option to add more later. Don't go for 4x8Gb sticks.

I would say that is a mediocre machine. You could probably build something better for the same price.

Yes for sure I take 16 GBb rams because I may upgrade in the future. I'll take a look on threadrippers but I had a bad experience with amd back in the days so I'm a bit cagy. Thx for the precision on the 9700k I didn't knew that.

On 12/10/2018 at 5:17 PM, AaronAb said:

I would skip the gen 9 series. It's clear Intel is out of gas and has no where to go. Get a threadripper instead. If you can afford to get at least 1080's I would do that too. It would be helpful to know what your budget is too.