accumulating or adding deforms over time?

markb

Hi everybody,

Wondering about the best way to accumulated a deformation over time in some additive manner. I'm using it on a variation of a footprint deformer. At the moment I'm using a RAY SOP to get my data and LAG CHOP to "accumulate" but it's kind of a cheat and will only work for limited situations. I'm new to all this so other solutions are eluding me.

I see this kind of thing done in Houdini all the time so I'm sure it's fairly straightforward. Any help is much appreciated!

Mark

Hi everybody,

Wondering about the best way to accumulated a deformation over time in some additive manner. I'm using it on a variation of a footprint deformer. At the moment I'm using a RAY SOP to get my data and LAG CHOP to "accumulate" but it's kind of a cheat and will only work for limited situations. I'm new to all this so other solutions are eluding me.

I see this kind of thing done in Houdini all the time so I'm sure it's fairly straightforward. Any help is much appreciated!

Mark

have a look at the Sop Solver in DOPs. There are a couple examples in there which demonstrate a feedback loop.

• 5 weeks later...

Trying a similar task myself right now, with a sphere that extrudes a random primitive face for each frame.

That portion of the setup works fine, with a random primitive chosen every frame and then a polyextrude SOP pushing it out, but I can't get any sort of iterative feedback accumulating the result into a big mess.

I've tried the Feedback proto SOP but the lack of docs makes it very cryptic. The For Each does repeat the operation, but no accumulation so far.

Any thoughts?

• 4 weeks later...

I'm finally able to get back to this. Here's a quick example pic. Sphere is animated, pushing at the grid with ray node. Trying to get a mole trench affect with it, by accumulating the deform. Can anyone tell me what I might be missing here? Thanks!

post-4578-1242856528_thumb.jpg