Start my autodidact learn to Houdini and FX

DanielXimenesCarballo

Hello everyone,

My name is Daniel Ximenes and I'm a boy from Barcelona (​​Spain), who wants to start his career in the FX (specifically simulations, pyro, etc.) with Houdini directly.

I studied a Master in VFX where I learned the basics of FX in Maya and now want to jump in and teach himself Houdini.

The problem is that reading I found so much information that I have collapsed.

I wrote to a friend, Pablo Gimenez, FX TD at Double Negative and recommended me go in this forum that would help me a lot to find a learning system to follow.

And here I'm, turning to you to program a Learning Path to start with Houdini based lectures and tutorials, online courses payment as digital Tutors, Cmvifx, FXPDH, etc.

Honestly the only thing I like is like an "path" I ordered what I should be learning to not wanting to face anything without having a base.

I hope you can help me!

Greetings and happy to be here.

Daniel.

start here:

http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogcategory&id=247&Itemid=403

then refine the area you are interested in here:

http://www.sidefx.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogsection&id=14&Itemid=132

on the right hand side are things like First Steps and Next Steps...

Yes, these all have already seen and worked, I would say take the next step!

Hi,

I think if you want to learn Houdini you might want to start by concentrating on SOPs, since that's where most of the magic really happens. :)

Once you get the logic of how to work procedurally then you can pick up the rest of it. 

My suggestion would be to give yourself a project to do and go about trying to finish that from beginning to end in Houdini. That's the way I ended up switching to Houdini after I left 3ds max. 

Edited by rohandalvi
  • Like 1

• 2 weeks later...
  • 4 weeks later...

Hey,