Insert Many Edge Loops - HELP!

Sunwolz

Is there any ways to insert multiple edge loops?  As in, REDO the instrument many times. 

I'm a professional 3d modeller in Maya, and it drives me CRAZY that I have to ALWAYS MANUALLY assign a whole node to such a trivial and self-repeating task. Right now, my pipeline is this:

Create PolySplit node(afterwards "Q" to repeat), change mode to "edge loop" -> insert the node into my NodeNetwork -> make edge loop.

REALLY. I have to insert like 40-50 UNIQUE edge loops on a piece of a model, and it seems like HELL right now.

There is a tool in the "Polygon" shelf in the top, that says "Edge Loop", but when I activate it, it always branches out a different rout in my NodeNetwork, making the whole "procedural" thing a mess.

ALSO, Is there a way to see the Smooth(Subdivided) preview of what you are modelling, while you model it. Like, insert edge loops on to a smoothed version of the model, and see the changes on the fly.

Please help!

Edited by Sunwolz

>Drop down a Divide node and turn OFF convex. Then turn on Bricker and lower the scale. This will gridify your object providing loop cuts to manipulate further down stream.

This doesn't seem to be what I'm looking for.

> for visual fedback on subDiv, press +

Yea, thnx. That is exactly the thing!

> I don't see your pb with the edgeloop  shelftool, it works just fine, and doesn't create "another route" in the network. Just a polysplit.

In my case, it does branching. Mby my Houdini is cursed. I can see potential horrendous problems with this issue for my intended future work pipeline.

x1.jpg

x2.jpg

Edited by Sunwolz

It does branching because you had the edit2 node before the merge1 selected when you used the tool. If you did not want branching then simply select the merge1 first, then use the tool. Or just drop the new node on the line between the line edit2 and merge1.