Ground Crack

Hwee

• 2 weeks later...

I am currently researching your file - top notch stuff, I must admit!

Just a small question -

what the line

ch("../fusepts")
in /obj/geo1/clean1/switch1 is supposed to do? there's no such node as 'fusepts'...

Moreover, bypassing the 'clean1' node dosen't actually affect the simulation...

• 2 weeks later...

Know what? I'm just as baffled by it as you are :-D Did this so long ago. Maybe it's some scaffolding I forgot to take down. And you're right, it doesn't do much other than trimming off some really thin parts of the crack. You can replace it with a fuse SOP and it'll turn out no different. Anyway don't "research" too much into it. The main thing is to use a spring SOP to pull the crack line straight and then use that to color and pull apart the crevice.

• 4 years later...

THREAD NECRO!

I'm new to houdini 11 and am in the "look at what everyone else did to figure it out" phase. This file, while seemingly awesome from the title, breaks when opened up. If someone can tell me (or point me in the right direction) how to fix it I'd love you for life.

My starter goal was a crack running down the middle of a surface that I can control via waypoints. I figured it was sufficiently ambitious to learn Houdini with and thought this file would give me a good solid start.

Man!! This is awesome!!

I mean this is the thing What Houdini can do!!

I see many people who jus stick to use fluid and stuff without enough knowledge SOP I would say Im still learning.

But, To know this kind of tricks is really powerful and useful for any other stuff(Ideally) in Houdini right!?

Thanks Again!!

Good Stuff!!

This file, while seemingly awesome from the title, breaks when opened up. If someone can tell me (or point me in the right direction) how to fix it I'd love you for life.