Vellum Inflate From Flattened State?

Atom

hmm...curly one, no success from me either....so....really Houdini still can't do simple Balloon pressure. In Max I can simply use negative pressure (not crushing it with a collider) , it works itself into a crumpled heap, then I used positive pressure to blow up the crumpled heap into its original shape (well, a puffy version of it anyway).

Only thing I can think of is have some omni wind blowing from inside the sphere to blow it up...(or fill it with liquid/particles ?)

Edited by Noobini

well...is that Pressure ? I think that's a 'morph' effect...

So, if you have Atom's collapsed sphere..can you apply internal Pressure to blow it up. As I said in the Max example....it won't get back its ORIGINAL shape....but a puffy version of it.....because there's actual Pressure inside.

While your example, I'm not technical enough to know what the gas solvers are doing...I'm guessing it just a blend/morph effect.

Edited by Noobini

That video is very interesting. I haven't tried pressure with nonmanifold Geo... No morphs in my setup...I believe the sphere would inflate without that rest blend, I just threw that in to regain the original volume pre-squish, as the restlengths of the squished sphere would produce a smaller object than would be desirable in my opinion... Definitely things to experiment with though

Thanks for looking into this and the example file. It does look like the effect needs an un-deflated rest state to work. Some others reported this effect could be accomplished by animating the @restlength parameter inside a geometry wrangle, but I have not got that to work yet.

if (s@type=="pressure") @restlength +=1.1;

38 minutes ago, Atom said: