Multiple Vellum Solvers?

art3mis

Have gone thru the Vellum Masterclass, the THUG presentation and all of Entagma's introductory vellum tutorials.

Still a few questions.

If you have multiple separate clothing items on a single character, is it considered 'best practice' to have multiple vellum solvers, one for each piece of clothing, or is it necessary to merge ALL clothing items before using a single solver?

Also, I've read the documentation in regards to Stitch Points and Weld Points constraints. http://www.sidefx.com/docs/houdini/nodes/sop/vellumconstraints.html

They both seem to be somewhat interchangeable.

Can anyone provide an example of when you would use one over another?

Edited by art3mis

• 2 weeks later...

I'm still new to this as well. I've been messing around with vellum a lot lately. Not exactly sure if I have an answer but just my own thoughts on this same topic.

I think it makes sense to merge your vellum objects as long as their behavior is the same. For example, a denim jacket, and denim pants. If the shirt is made of polyester, wouldn't make sense to me to sim them together. 

As far as multiple solvers go, I haven't the slightest on how to do that at the sop level, but in dops it's as easy as a multisolver correct? I don't think it's the biggest hit on performance. 

Feel free to correct me, I'm still a noob.

• 1 year later...

Hello art3mis,

i don’t know if you have a need anymore in this. 
Try to setup for each of your „vellum source“, here I am speaking of your vellum items you want to simulate, a vellum cloth object. Connect your Null Objects to make your OUT_geo and OUT_Con available for each of your vellum constraint Setup. Wire all the geo in one Merge and all the cons in another merge. Then wire that into a single vellum solver.

I was looking for help in the forum. I saw your topic, and I have a solution instead of help. I have so many questions left in vellum^^