Do houdini users render realistic objects?

Hello,

I am a beginner of houdini, I used to use c4d for my 3d project.

After using houdini for a while, I found houdini's mantra render is extremely slow, and not easy to make a realistic render.

I know mantra can make photo realistic, but it's really hard to learn and take more time to learn and to do than other softwares.

I wonder how many people export to other 3d softwares to render (or directly just do animation in other 3d softwares)?

Of course I didn't mean anything dynamic. Just basic objects like computers, cars, etc.

And composite the object and dynamic stuff together.

Or how many people use third party render engine in houdini?

Thank you.

The feedback from my students every year after coming from a different render engine is that Mantra is admittedly slower for everyday stuff, but faster and reliable on tough scenes, AND, and it´s a big "and", it has a huge quality on the output once you start playing a bit with your lighting/shading. Admittedly, most of them are quite capable at lighting already when they start playing with it. 

If you come from an Arnold background, render times should be more or less the same for starters, otherwise you are doing it wrong.

If you come from something like, let´s say Modo or Lightwave, or V-Ray to a lesser extent it will look slower for simple scenes, but you will see none of the problems that those engines show when you start making things complex.

Edited by Netvudu
  • Like 3

The only area where Mantra is not on Par with Maxwell / V-Ray from my test is for refraction.

- volume / particle rendering is stellar

- sss is stellar

- flexibility is huge

If mantra would have :

- better refraction models

- physical absorption for glass

- dispersion

it would be a perfect engine !

Dany shader is a good answer to those problems but it would be better to have all this by default

https://www.orbolt.com/asset/_danylyon::PBR_layered_material

Edited by sebkaine