Deforming geometry

Hello everybody,

I'm learning houdini, been reading stuff from a week ago, was super hard at first, too much words (vex, sop, vop, chop, vdb, and so on) and a different worfklow, node based. (I'm a designer and come from apps like photoshop and cinema 4d).

Thing is yesterday I was able to create my first setup and now I'm addicted to this, can't stop thinking how to make stuff and never tried a most powerful soft.

Here are some samples and my basic ideas on how to deal with, but some tips or help would come super handy,

First example

5b2ac532291373.56bfba1e220e5.png

When I watched this I thought maybe can be achieved with a geo file node, selecting geometry by some attributes, a copy node with small spheres (or are they particles?), and some deformation via attribute vop, but this seems more complex, I'm missing something?

Second example

e3e22632291373.56bb6f667f87b.jpg

I'm particullary interested on abstract geo stuff, I'm a zbrush sculptor and wanna use houdini capabilities to do something like this, a doubt I got is how to deform the polygons (ie quads or tri) but keeping the overall silohuette, I did a test by saving the position, deforming with a mountain and then give the position back with a point wrangle, but it didnt worked.

Third sample

ad602032291373.56788d6529694.png

I was able to achieve something similar with vdb workflow, only thing I couldnt do is the cyan borders, were they made by another vdb combine / reshape sdf? or there's a way to make groups based on edges on vdb? like what the cookie node does on geometry separating autogroups?

Sorry for being that long, I'm pretty excited about this soft, here are some more cool images of what I would like to play with, autor is Anton Won Soder

784e7a32291373.57364e2665699.jpg

3f4fd332291373.56fdb0301dedd.jpg

48281a32291373.56b3725fd20eb.jpg

Thanks for reading! cheers from Argentina

• Like 3